Pasadena to Honor Black Church First Ladies of Achievement on April 30th

First Lady Valerie Newman
First Lady Valerie Newman

For over twenty seven years, the Pasadena San Gabriel Valley Journal has promoted education and entrepreneurship, as keys to career opportunities. This year’s Women of Achievement Breakfast continues on that path by presenting women of the ministry as First Ladies. One of the traditional duties they provide is an example of how to be successful. They present quiet lessons for success. 

In my life’s experience in the church, first ladies have been there as a picture of someone who has served in partnership with her husband. A few years ago, my wife and I traveled to Detroit for the funeral of First Lady Jackie Cushman, a former First Lady of Pasadena Church of God. My fondest memory of her was her asking me if I was my mother’s favorite child. The answer was, “Yes”. How could she know? She said my self-confidence was testimony of being loved by my mother.

Mother Crouch was the First Lady when I attended church in Pacoima. She was the mother of Gospel singer and writer Andre Crouch. She was just a special lady. She didn’t play the piano or teach Sunday school anymore. After years of serving beside her husband in building his church, she worked in nearly every category, including office secretary. Her presence provided loving comfort to members. She sat in the section next to the pulpit, next to Bishop Crouch, as smiling, quiet evidence of her position of power. She was a light for the children and a voice of comfort and advice.

Meet the Journal’s 2016 Women of Achievement – First Ladies

I note that First Ladies have different relationships with church members. I guess it’s strange to realize that Mother Crouch was there but not active in my life, unlike Sister Cushman who was a great influence in my life. God meet the needs through these Godly women at a time when I needed Him. When I was a young child, First Lady, Josephine Jackson, in Bakersfield, was my Bible school and Sunshine Band teacher. She taught us the Bible and Christian songs. We learned and performed plays, and gave speeches. I guess that was my introduction to public speaking.

Click here to read more

Source: Pasadena Journal | Joe C. Hopkins