7 Attributes that Make a Great Worship Leader

corporate worship

I have worked with some great worship leaders and pastors. Jason with Building 429 was once our worship pastor. He is phenomenal at helping people engage in corporate worship. How could I not mention the golden voice of Daniel Doss? I should mention our current worship pastor, Bo Warren, is one of the most gifted people I’ve ever known.

I’m not intending this post, however, to be a shout-out to any of them specifically. I’ve been blessed with many great worship leaders and pastors with whom to work.

I’ve worked with enough now to form som opinions of what makes a great one.

Here are 7 attributes of a great worship leader:

Humble – They love Jesus and attempt to walk with Him daily. They are willing to let others help lead, because it’s not about them — it’s about Jesus. And, they don’t have to always be center stage.

Strategic – They think through the planning of a service from start to finish. They are conscious of the need to remove distractions and give people the best opportunity to potentially engage in worship.

Cooperative – I once worked with a worship leader who could not handle a change. I believe in planning. I also believe the Spirit of God can work in our planning process. But, it’s very difficult to allow God’s Spirit to reign when we are the ones in control of the service. The bond between the teaching pastor and the worship pastor is so important. In fact, the ability to form chemistry with them may be my most important quality when seeking a worship leader.

Click here for more.

SOURCE: RonEdmondson.com

 

One comment

Leave a comment