Alabama Governor Declares State of Emergency for Six Counties After Tornadoes Rip Through State

Alabama Gov. Kay Ivey visits for homecoming festivities during the first half of an NCAA college football game between Alabama and Arkansas, in Tuscaloosa, Ala. on Oct. 26, 2019. (AP Photo/Vasha Hunt, File)

Alabama Gov. Kay Ivey (R) declared a state of emergency for six counties after severe storms pummeled the state Thursday.

Ivey issued a state of emergency for Autauga, Chambers, Coosa, Dallas, Elmore and Tallapoosa counties after a series of tornadoes ripped through the state Thursday, causing damage to buildings and knocking out power for 30,000 homes, according to the Montgomery Advertiser. The tornadoes – confirmed in Autuaga and Dallas counties – left four people dead and multiple injured, the Montgomery Advertiser reported.

“I — along with my partners at the Alabama EMA — will continue monitoring to determine if an expanded state of emergency is needed,” Ivey said on Twitter. “I am ready to be a helping hand to our local officials. Please continue using caution, and stay safe out there!”

A series of severe storms swept the Southeast Thursday afternoon, with the National Weather Service issuing tornado watches throughout the day for parts of Alabama, Mississippi, Georgia, Tennessee, Florida North Carolina and South Carolina.

The National Weather Service in Birmingham warned residents around noon that a “large and extremely dangerous tornado” is moved through the town of Selma in Dallas County, and reported significant damage to the town shortly after.

Click here to read more.

SOURCE: The Hill, Lauren Sforza