New Utah law: Those owing child support to lose licenses to hunt, fish

The letter is hitting mailboxes across Utah.

“This notice is to inform you that according to records maintained by the Office of Recovery Services (ORS), you currently have child support arrears over $2,500.00,” it reads, then warns that under a new Utah law “you may not apply for, obtain, or attempt to obtain a license, permit, or tag for hunting or fishing…”

A law passed by the Utah State Legislature last year is going into effect on July 1 and thousands of people who are delinquent on child support could be denied a hunting or fishing license because they owe more than $2,500 in unpaid child support.

“These children need their child support,” said Rep. Karianne Lisonbee, R-Clearfield, who sponsored the law.

Click here to read more

Source: Associated Press – BEN WINSLOW