PODCAST: Whyte House Daily Devotional Bible Reading #239: 2 Samuel 3, Song of Solomon 5, and Revelation 8 with Daniel Whyte III

This is Daniel Whyte III, president of Gospel Light Society International with the Whyte House Daily Devotional Bible Reading Episode #239. Where I read three chapters of the Holy Bible in the King James Version each day with my family as a part of our family devotions, to encourage you to read the Holy Bible in a year’s time. Today we are reading 2 Samuel 3, Song of Solomon 5, and Revelation 8.

St. Jerome said, “Ignorance of the Scriptures is ignorance of Christ.”

J. C. Ryle said, “Next to praying there is nothing so important in practical religion as Bible reading. By reading that Book we may learn what to believe, what to be, and what to do; how to live with comfort, and how to die in peace.”

2 Samuel 3
1 Now there was long war between the house of Saul and the house of Da’-vid: but Da’-vid waxed stronger and stronger, and the house of Saul waxed weaker and weaker.

2 And unto Da’-vid were sons born in He’-bron: and his firstborn was Am’-non, of A-hin’-o-am the Jez’-re-el-i-tess;

3 And his second, Chi’-le-ab, of A’-bi-gail the wife of Na’-bal the Car’-mel-ite; and the third, Ab’-sa-lom the son of Ma’-a-cah the daughter of Tal’-mai king of Ge’-shur;

4 And the fourth, A-don’-i-jah the son of Hag’-gith; and the fifth, She’-pha-ti’-ah the son of A’-bi-tal;

5 And the sixth, Ith’-re-am, by Eg’-lah Da’-vid’s wife. These were born to Da’-vid in He’-bron.

6 And it came to pass, while there was war between the house of Saul and the house of Da’-vid, that Ab’-ner made himself strong for the house of Saul.

7 And Saul had a concubine, whose name was Riz’-pah, the daughter of Ai’-ah: and Ish’-bo-sheth said to Ab’-ner, Wherefore hast thou gone in unto my father’s concubine?

8 Then was Ab’-ner very wroth for the words of Ish’-bo-sheth, and said, Am I a dog’s head, which against Ju’-dah do shew kindness this day unto the house of Saul thy father, to his brethren, and to his friends, and have not delivered thee into the hand of Da’-vid, that thou chargest me to day with a fault concerning this woman?

9 So do God to Ab’-ner, and more also, except, as the Lord hath sworn to Da’-vid, even so I do to him;

10 To translate the kingdom from the house of Saul, and to set up the throne of Da’-vid over Is’-ra-el and over Ju’-dah, from Dan even to Beer’-she-ba.

11 And he could not answer Ab’-ner a word again, because he feared him.

12 And Ab’-ner sent messengers to Da’-vid on his behalf, saying, Whose is the land? saying also, Make thy league with me, and, behold, my hand shall be with thee, to bring about all Is’-ra-el unto thee.

13 And he said, Well; I will make a league with thee: but one thing I require of thee, that is, Thou shalt not see my face, except thou first bring Mi’-chal Saul’s daughter, when thou comest to see my face.

14 And Da’-vid sent messengers to Ish’-bo-sheth Saul’s son, saying, Deliver me my wife Mi’-chal, which I espoused to me for an hundred foreskins of the Phil’-is-tines.

15 And Ish’-bo-sheth sent, and took her from her husband, even from Phal’-ti-el the son of La’-ish.

16 And her husband went with her along weeping behind her to Ba’-hu-rim. Then said Ab’-ner unto him, Go, return. And he returned.

17 And Ab’-ner had communication with the elders of Is’-ra-el, saying, Ye sought for Da’-vid in times past to be king over you:

18 Now then do it: for the Lord hath spoken of Da’-vid, saying, By the hand of my servant Da’-vid I will save my people Is’-ra-el out of the hand of the Phil’-is-tines, and out of the hand of all their enemies.

19 And Ab’-ner also spake in the ears of Ben’-ja-min: and Ab’-ner went also to speak in the ears of Da’-vid in He’-bron all that seemed good to Is’-ra-el, and that seemed good to the whole house of Ben’-ja-min.

20 So Ab’-ner came to Da’-vid to He’-bron, and twenty men with him. And Da’-vid made Ab’-ner and the men that were with him a feast.

21 And Ab’-ner said unto Da’-vid, I will arise and go, and will gather all Is’-ra-el unto my lord the king, that they may make a league with thee, and that thou mayest reign over all that thine heart desireth. And Da’-vid sent Ab’-ner away; and he went in peace.

22 And, behold, the servants of Da’-vid and Jo’-ab came from pursuing a troop, and brought in a great spoil with them: but Ab’-ner was not with Da’-vid in He’-bron; for he had sent him away, and he was gone in peace.

23 When Jo’-ab and all the host that was with him were come, they told Jo’-ab, saying, Ab’-ner the son of Ner came to the king, and he hath sent him away, and he is gone in peace.

24 Then Jo’-ab came to the king, and said, What hast thou done? behold, Ab’-ner came unto thee; why is it that thou hast sent him away, and he is quite gone?

25 Thou knowest Ab’-ner the son of Ner, that he came to deceive thee, and to know thy going out and thy coming in, and to know all that thou doest.

26 And when Jo’-ab was come out from Da’-vid, he sent messengers after Ab’-ner, which brought him again from the well of Si’-rah: but Da’-vid knew it not.

27 And when Ab’-ner was returned to He’-bron, Jo’-ab took him aside in the gate to speak with him quietly, and smote him there under the fifth rib, that he died, for the blood of A’-sa-hel his brother.

28 And afterward when Da’-vid heard it, he said, I and my kingdom are guiltless before the Lord for ever from the blood of Ab’-ner the son of Ner:

29 Let it rest on the head of Jo’-ab, and on all his father’s house; and let there not fail from the house of Jo’-ab one that hath an issue, or that is a leper, or that leaneth on a staff, or that falleth on the sword, or that lacketh bread.

30 So Jo’-ab, and A’-bi-shai his brother slew Ab’-ner, because he had slain their brother A’-sa-hel at Gib’-e-on in the battle.

31 And Da’-vid said to Jo’-ab, and to all the people that were with him, Rend your clothes, and gird you with sackcloth, and mourn before Ab’-ner. And king Da’-vid himself followed the bier.

32 And they buried Ab’-ner in He’-bron: and the king lifted up his voice, and wept at the grave of Ab’-ner; and all the people wept.

33 And the king lamented over Ab’-ner, and said, Died Ab’-ner as a fool dieth?

34 Thy hands were not bound, nor thy feet put into fetters: as a man falleth before wicked men, so fellest thou. And all the people wept again over him.

35 And when all the people came to cause Da’-vid to eat meat while it was yet day, Da’-vid sware, saying, So do God to me, and more also, if I taste bread, or ought else, till the sun be down.

36 And all the people took notice of it, and it pleased them: as whatsoever the king did pleased all the people.

37 For all the people and all Is’-ra-el understood that day that it was not of the king to slay Ab’-ner the son of Ner.

38 And the king said unto his servants, Know ye not that there is a prince and a great man fallen this day in Is’-ra-el?

39 And I am this day weak, though anointed king; and these men the sons of Ze-ru’-i-ah be too hard for me: the Lord shall reward the doer of evil according to his wickedness.

Song of Solomon 5
1 I am come into my garden, my sister, my spouse: I have gathered my myrrh with my spice; I have eaten my honeycomb with my honey; I have drunk my wine with my milk: eat, O friends; drink, yea, drink abundantly, O beloved.

2 I sleep, but my heart waketh: it is the voice of my beloved that knocketh, saying, Open to me, my sister, my love, my dove, my undefiled: for my head is filled with dew, and my locks with the drops of the night.

3 I have put off my coat; how shall I put it on? I have washed my feet; how shall I defile them?

4 My beloved put in his hand by the hole of the door, and my bowels were moved for him.

5 I rose up to open to my beloved; and my hands dropped with myrrh, and my fingers with sweet smelling myrrh, upon the handles of the lock.

6 I opened to my beloved; but my beloved had withdrawn himself, and was gone: my soul failed when he spake: I sought him, but I could not find him; I called him, but he gave me no answer.

7 The watchmen that went about the city found me, they smote me, they wounded me; the keepers of the walls took away my veil from me.

8 I charge you, O daughters of Je-ru’-sa-lem, if ye find my beloved, that ye tell him, that I am sick of love.

9 What is thy beloved more than another beloved, O thou fairest among women? what is thy beloved more than another beloved, that thou dost so charge us?

10 My beloved is white and ruddy, the chiefest among ten thousand.

11 His head is as the most fine gold, his locks are bushy, and black as a raven.

12 His eyes are as the eyes of doves by the rivers of waters, washed with milk, and fitly set.

13 His cheeks are as a bed of spices, as sweet flowers: his lips like lilies, dropping sweet smelling myrrh.

14 His hands are as gold rings set with the beryl: his belly is as bright ivory overlaid with sapphires.

15 His legs are as pillars of marble, set upon sockets of fine gold: his countenance is as Lebanon, excellent as the cedars.

16 His mouth is most sweet: yea, he is altogether lovely. This is my beloved, and this is my friend, O daughters of Je-ru’-sa-lem.

Revelation 8
1 And when he had opened the seventh seal, there was silence in heaven about the space of half an hour.

2 And I saw the seven angels which stood before God; and to them were given seven trumpets.

3 And another angel came and stood at the altar, having a golden censer; and there was given unto him much incense, that he should offer it with the prayers of all saints upon the golden altar which was before the throne.

4 And the smoke of the incense, which came with the prayers of the saints, ascended up before God out of the angel’s hand.

5 And the angel took the censer, and filled it with fire of the altar, and cast it into the earth: and there were voices, and thunderings, and lightnings, and an earthquake.

6 And the seven angels which had the seven trumpets prepared themselves to sound.

7 The first angel sounded, and there followed hail and fire mingled with blood, and they were cast upon the earth: and the third part of trees was burnt up, and all green grass was burnt up.

8 And the second angel sounded, and as it were a great mountain burning with fire was cast into the sea: and the third part of the sea became blood;

9 And the third part of the creatures which were in the sea, and had life, died; and the third part of the ships were destroyed.

10 And the third angel sounded, and there fell a great star from heaven, burning as it were a lamp, and it fell upon the third part of the rivers, and upon the fountains of waters;

11 And the name of the star is called Wormwood: and the third part of the waters became wormwood; and many men died of the waters, because they were made bitter.

12 And the fourth angel sounded, and the third part of the sun was smitten, and the third part of the moon, and the third part of the stars; so as the third part of them was darkened, and the day shone not for a third part of it, and the night likewise.

13 And I beheld, and heard an angel flying through the midst of heaven, saying with a loud voice, Woe, woe, woe, to the inhabiters of the earth by reason of the other voices of the trumpet of the three angels, which are yet to sound!

________

PRAY
________

When I was a teenager I wanted to get wisdom and knowledge, so I set out to read the big family Bible that many families had in those days. But I couldn’t get past Genesis 2 before I got bored with reading the Bible. I found out later in life that you have to believe on Christ and get saved before you can understand the Bible. So here is how I became a Christian and how you can too:

First, accept the fact that you are a sinner, and that you have broken God’s law. The Bible says in Romans 3:23: “For all have sinned and come short of the glory of God.”

Second, accept the fact that there is a penalty for sin. The Bible states in Romans 6:23: “For the wages of sin is death…”

Third, accept the fact that you are on the road to hell. Jesus Christ said in Matthew 18:8: “Wherefore if thy hand or thy foot offend thee, cut them off, and cast them from thee: it is better for thee to enter into life halt or maimed, rather than having two hands or two feet to be cast into everlasting fire.” Also, the Bible states in Revelation 21:8: “But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death.”

Now that is bad news, but here’s the good news. Jesus Christ said in John 3:16: “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” Just believe in your heart that Jesus Christ died for your sins, was buried, and rose from the dead by the power of God for you so that you can live eternally with Him. Pray and ask Him to come into your heart today, and He will.

Romans 10:9 & 13 says, “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved… For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.”

If you believe that Jesus Christ died on the Cross for your sins, was buried, and rose from the dead, and you want to trust Him for your Salvation today, please pray with me this simple prayer: Holy Father God, I realize that I am a sinner and that I have done some bad things in my life. I am sorry for my sins, and today I choose to turn from my sins. For Jesus Christ sake, please forgive me of my sins. I believe with all of my heart that Jesus Christ died for me, was buried, and rose again. I trust Jesus Christ as my Savior and I choose to follow Him as Lord from this day forward. Lord Jesus, please come into my heart and save my soul and change my life today. Amen.

If you believed in your heart that Jesus Christ died on the Cross, was buried, and rose again, allow me to say, congratulations on doing the most important thing in life and that is accepting Jesus Christ as your Lord and Saviour! For more information to help you grow in your newfound faith in Christ, go to Gospel Light Society.com and read “What To Do After You Enter Through the Door”. Jesus Christ said in John 10:9, “I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture.”

If you accepted Jesus Christ as your Savior today, please email me at dw3@gospellightsociety.com and let us know. There is some free material that we want to send you. If you have a prayer request, please e-mail that to us as well, and we will pray for you until you tell us to stop.

God loves you. We love you. And may God bless you.