The Pulpit & Pen Blog Sends Southern Baptist President J.D. Greear ‘Worst Christian of 2019’ Award

J.D. Greear, the President of the Southern Baptist Convention since 2018, was voted the worst Christian of the year in 2019. Greear pastors The Summit Church in North Carolina, one of Outreach Magazine’s Fastest Growing Churches in America. As many pastors can probably relate to, not everyone in his congregation is without displeasure about something he may have done, said, or preached on. Many can also relate as well, that with the emergence of social media and everyone offering their criticism online, the walls of influence broaden beyond the walls of the church.

Pulpit & Pen Article

The Pulpit & Pen is known as a Calvinist blog with a history of criticizing the Charismatic movement, liberal Christianity, the Southern Baptist Convention, and many others they disagree with. On January 1, 2020 Pulpit & Pen posted an article entitled ‘Who is the Worst Christian of 2019?’ Its nominees for the title were Danny AkinBeth MooreJ.D. GreearJeff DurbinJames MacDonald, and John David Edie. Writer Seth Dunn called Greear’s leadership deplorable because his church cancelled Sunday services during Christmas, charged for tickets to a Good Friday service, he supported Beth Moore, and he preached about the Bible whispering about homosexuality.

Worst Christian of 2019 Award

Pastor Greear won the Worst Christian of 2019 award, professionally engraved and topped with a goat on the top. He posted it on Twitter with the hashtag #worstchristian2019 and #thegoat. Over 628 people have commented on the photo, and over 4000 have liked it. The award probably came from someone as a joke because of the Pulpit & Pen article and therefore probably did not come from Pulpit & Pen itself. *Correction, I apologize to Pulpit & Pen writer Seth Dunn as he reached out to me and confirmed he did send the trophy. 

Priscilla Shirer, Beth Moore, Daniel Im, Jen Wilkin, D.A. Horton, Rebecca McLaughlin, and hundreds of others have commented on the award.

Click here to read more.
Source: Church Leaders