PODCAST: A Little-Known Country, Part 11 (Ordained Chaplains: Out of the Depths #62)

Welcome to the Ordained Chaplains podcast. My name is Daniel Whyte III. I am the president of Gospel Light Society University. We are going through the book “Out of the Depths: An Autobiographical Study Of Mental Disorder And Religious Experience” by one of the pioneers of chaplaincy, Dr. Anton T. Boisen. This is episode #62.

Our Scripture Verse for today is Psalm 94:18-19 which reads, “When I said, My foot slippeth; thy mercy, O Lord, held me up. In the multitude of my thoughts within me thy comforts delight my soul.”

Our Ordained Chaplains quote for today is from Charles Spurgeon. He said, “Great thoughts of your sin alone will drive you to despair; but great thoughts of Christ will pilot you into the haven of peace.”

In this podcast, we will continue discussing the book “Out of the Depths” by Anton T. Boisen. We continue today with “Chapter 4: A Little-Known Country” (Part 11):

The transfer to Westboro State Hospital took place about October 16, 1920. For about two weeks I remained acutely disturbed. Then I snapped out of it, much as one awakens out of a bad dream. Early in November, I was transferred to the convalescent ward, and I began at once trying to figure out what had happened to me. I tried to recall and record all that I could. I studied other patients and I besieged doctors and nurses with questions. What happened at Westboro is best told through the letters I wrote at the time.

The following letter was written about three days after my transfer from the disturbed ward, and the day after I had been assigned to the convalescent [CON-VAH-LES-SENT] ward. The visit referred to was on Thursday, November 4, and the letter was addressed to the friend with whom I had been staying on Long Island.

November 8, 1920
Rev. Fred Eastman
East Williston, L.I.

DEAR FRED:
I wish to express my deep appreciation of your taking the time and trouble to look me up. Your visit has meant a lot to me. It has been for me as though I were dead and am alive again. I am feeling much stronger and really quite like myself.

I am grateful for the spirit with which you have taken this thing. As I look back upon it, I find much that makes me blush and shudder. And yet I still feel that the story of these last twenty years is not wholly a mistake. I believe that there is in it a deeper meaning. In spite of the violence of the disturbance, I have not felt myself deserted. I have come through feeling that there has been no break in the purpose of all these years.

What the future may bring forth remains to be seen, but I feel hopeful. Only one thing gives me apprehension–the prolongation of my stay in the hospital. I do hope I may soon be restored to normal conditions among my friends.

In our next podcast, we will continue with Part 11 of Chapter 4, “A Little Known Country”.

—PRAYER—

Now, if you have come across this podcast, and do not know the Lord Jesus Christ as your Saviour, allow me to show you how.

First, accept the fact that you are a sinner, and that you have broken God’s law. The Bible says in Romans 3:23: “For all have sinned and come short of the glory of God.”

Second, accept the fact that there is a penalty for sin. The Bible states in Romans 6:23: “For the wages of sin is death…”

Third, accept the fact that you are on the road to hell. Jesus Christ said in Matthew 10:28: “And fear not them which kill the body, but are not able to kill the soul: but rather fear him which is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.” Also, the Bible states in Revelation 21:8: “But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death.”

Now this is bad news, but here’s the good news. Jesus Christ said in John 3:16: “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” Just believe in your heart that Jesus Christ died for your sins, was buried, and rose from the dead by the power of God for you so that you can live eternally with Him. Pray and ask Him to come into your heart today, and He will.

Romans 10:9-13 says, “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved. For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation. For the scripture saith, Whosoever believeth on him shall not be ashamed. For there is no difference between the Jew and the Greek: for the same Lord over all is rich unto all that call upon him. For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.”

Until next time, my friend, God bless!