Daniel Whyte III Shares How, When he Was Running Away from Two Preacher Parents, the Gospel, and the Church, God Used Aretha Franklin’s “Amazing Grace” 8-Track as One of the Many Things God Used to Draw him to Salvation Through Jesus Christ On December 19, 1979

"Amazing Grace," by Aretha Franklin
“Amazing Grace,” by Aretha Franklin

Growing up, I hated preachers and did not want to have anything to do with the church. My father and mother were preachers, and, as a young man, I left home because I wanted to continue living in sin.

However, throughout that time, I had praying parents and praying grandparents.

One night, while I was out driving late, I stopped at a gas station to pick up an 8-track to add to my rock ‘n’ roll collection. The 8-track I walked out with was Aretha Franklin’s 1972 Amazing Grace. 

I listened to that album at various times throughout the next two years. I believe God used that album, coupled with the prayers of my parents and grandparents, to prepare my heart for what happened on December 19, 1979.

On that night, God sent a young man by the name of Michael Lewis to my dorm room on Kessler Air Force Base in Biloxi, MS, to show me how to be saved from Hell straight from the Bible. I accepted Christ as my Savior that night and my life has never been the same.

Listen to Aretha Franklin singing “Amazing Grace” below.

Listen to the full Amazing Grace album below.


Daniel Whyte III has spoken in meetings across the United States and in over twenty-five foreign countries. He is the author of over forty books including the Essence Magazine, Dallas Morning News, and Amazon.com national bestseller, Letters to Young Black Men. He is also the president of Gospel Light Society International, a worldwide evangelistic ministry that reaches thousands with the Gospel each week, as well as president of Torch Ministries International, a Christian literature ministry.

He is heard by thousands each week on his radio broadcasts/podcasts, which include: The Prayer Motivator Devotional, The Prayer Motivator Minute, as well as Gospel Light Minute X, the Gospel Light Minute, the Sunday Evening Evangelistic Message, the Prophet Daniel’s Report, the Second Coming Watch Update and the Soul-Winning Motivator, among others.

He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Theology from Bethany Divinity College, a Bachelor’s degree in Religion from Texas Wesleyan University, a Master’s degree in Religion, a Master of Divinity degree, and a Master of Theology degree from Liberty University’s Rawlings School of Divinity (formerly Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary). He is currently a candidate for the Doctor of Ministry degree.

He has been married to the former Meriqua Althea Dixon, of Christiana, Jamaica since 1987. God has blessed their union with seven children.