Southern Baptist Theological Seminary Trustees Elect First African American Officer in 159-Year History

Southern Baptist Theological Seminary trustees elected their first African American officer in the school’s 159-year history by a unanimous vote during their April 16 meeting.

The election of Alan “Keith” Daniels, a businessman from Texas and member of MacArthur Boulevard Baptist Church in Irving, as board secretary is “another necessary step in the history of the Southern Baptist Convention demonstrating at every level of denominational leadership the diversity to which we are called,” said R. Albert Mohler Jr., president of Southern Seminary.

“It’s also a celebration of the fact that the Lord is gifting Southern Baptists with leaders, church members, pastors, and congregations that are helping this denomination every day look more like America and more like the world around us,” Mohler said in an interview following the meeting.

Daniels is the franchise owner of multiple Christian Brothers Automotive locations in the Dallas area.

Also elected as new trustee officers: chairman Matt Schmucker, executive director of the Together for the Gospel biennial conference and member of Capitol Hill Baptist Church in Washington D.C.; first vice chairman Clint Pressley, senior pastor of Hickory Grove Baptist Church in Charlotte, N.C., who previously served as the board’s secretary; and second vice chairman John Montgomery, dean of spiritual life at California Baptist University in Riverside.

In addition to the election of new board officers, trustees elected and promoted faculty members; adopted an updated strategic plan and a $51.5 million budget for 2018-2019; and honored Mohler for the recent 25-year anniversary of his election as Southern Seminary’s president.

Trustees elected Jeremy L. Pierre as the Lawrence and Charlotte Hoover Associate Professor of Biblical Counseling. Pierre also is the seminary’s dean of students and chair of the biblical counseling and family ministry department. He has served on seminary faculty since 2011 and previously taught English at the seminary’s undergraduate Boyce College.

The board elected to the faculty, effective Aug. 1, John David Trentham as associate professor of leadership and discipleship; Melissa Tucker, associate professor of elementary education; and Jarvis Williams, associate professor of New Testament interpretation. The board also approved faculty sabbaticals for the 2018-2019 academic year.

Click here to read more.
Source: Baptist Press