SBC President Steve Gaines Names Committee on Resolutions Members for Annual Meeting

Southern Baptist Convention President Steve Gaines has named members of the Committee on Resolutions for the June 12-13 SBC annual meeting in Dallas.

Jason Duesing of Missouri was named as the committee’s chairman by Gaines.

Duesing is provost and associate professor of historical theology at Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Kansas City and a member of Antioch Bible Baptist Church in Gladstone, Mo.

Gaines, pastor of Memphis-area Bellevue Baptist Church, appointed the committee in keeping with the provision in SBC Bylaw 20 that its members be named 75 days prior to the start of the annual meeting.

The other committee members, in alphabetical order, are:

— Ken Alford, pastor, Crossroads Baptist Church, Valdosta, Ga.

— Byron Day, pastor, Emmanuel Baptist Church, Laurel, Md.

— Candi Finch, assistant professor of theology in women’s studies, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas; member of Hope Church, Fort Worth.

— Willie McLaurin, special assistant to the executive director, Tennessee Baptist Mission Board, Franklin, Tenn.; member of Simeon Baptist Church, Antioch, Tenn.

— Chris Metcalf, pastor, Lihue Baptist Church, Lihue, Hawaii.

— Jason Paredes, lead pastor, Fielder Church, Arlington, Texas.

— Adron Robinson, senior pastor, Hillcrest Baptist Church, Country Club Hills, Ill.

— Alicia Wong, associate professor of women’s ministry, Gateway Seminary, Ontario, Calif.; member of Rosena Church, San Bernardino, Ca.

— Curtis Woods, associate executive director for convention relations, Kentucky Baptist Convention, Louisville, Ky.; member of Watson Memorial Baptist Church, Louisville.

The committee’s composition, according to Bylaw 20, must include at least two members who served the previous year, with Duesing and Alford meeting this requirement. Bylaw 20 also stipulates that the committee include at least three SBC Executive Committee members. This year they are Alford, Metcalf and Robinson.

Click here to read more.
Source: Baptist Press