Southern Baptist leader Russell Moore and Evangelist Franklin Graham are criticizing Vermont Senator Bernie Sanders for his opposition to Trump OMB nominee, Russell Vought.

Vought is President Trump’s choice for deputy director of the White House Office of Management and Budget.

Things got heated during Vought’s nomination hearing Wednesday when Sanders attacked him about past comments Vought made about Muslims.

“Muslims do not simply have a deficient theology,” Vought wrote on a conservative blog called The Resurgent. “They do not know God because they have rejected Jesus Christ his Son, and they stand condemned.”

Vought wrote the post last year in defense of his alma mater, Wheaton College, for forcing out a professor who said Christians and Muslims “worship the same God.”

Sanders asked him if his comments were Islamophobic.

“Absolutely not,” replied Vought.

“I’m a Christian, and I believe in a Christian set of principles based on my faith. That post … was to defend my alma mater, Wheaton College, a Christian school that has a statement of faith that includes the centrality of Jesus Christ for salvation.”

Sanders interrupted Vought asking, “Do you believe that people in the Muslim religion stand condemned?”

“Again, senator, I’m a Christian,” began Vought, “and I wrote that piece …”

“I understand that,” said an agitated Sanders.

“I don’t know how many Muslims there are in America. … Are you suggesting that all of those people stand condemned? What about Jews? They stand condemned too?”

“Senator, I’m a Christian … ,” Vought began again.

Sanders interrupted again, this time shouting, “I understand that you are a Christian!”

“There are other people of different religions in this country and around the world. In your judgment, do you think that people who are not Christians are going to be condemned?” Sanders continued.

Vought responded, “as a Christian I believe that all individuals are made in the image of God and are worthy of dignity and respect regardless of their religious beliefs.”

Click here to read more.

SOURCE: CBN News

