Biggest Supermoon in Nearly 70 Years to Appear on November 14

biggest-supermoon-70yrs-nov14

A record-breaking supermoon will brighten the night sky later this month.

The November full moon is not only the closest full moon of 2016, NASA said, but also the closest full moon since 1948 (which is still the last time the Cleveland Indians won the World Series).

This is one you might want to watch out for: The full moon won’t come this close to Earth again until Nov. 25, 2034, NASA says.

The moon will look plenty full and bright all night on Nov. 13 and 14 as it rises in the east around sunset, climbs highest around midnight and then sets in the west at or near sunrise, EarthSky reports.

The exact moment of the full moon is the morning of Nov. 14 at 8:52 a.m. EST, (7:52 a.m. CST, 6:52 a.m. MST, and 5:52 a.m. PST), Space.com said.

The moon will reach perigee – the moon’s closest point to Earth for this month – within about 90 minutes of that time, EarthSky said.

Click here to read more.

SOURCE: USA Today, Doyle Rice