The Supremes, Billy Joel Inducted into Library of Congress

© Getty Images
© Getty Images

The Library of Congress has announced which songs and albums it has selected to preserve within its National Recording Registry for 2016. Among the 25 honorees are recordings by Billy Joel, Metallica, John Coltrane, Gloria Gaynor, and The Supremes. 

Each year, the Library of Congress selects 25 culturally, historically or aesthetically significant recordings to preserve in the National Recording Registry, according to the National Recording Preservation Act of 2000. The selected recordings must also be at least 10 years old. This year’s inductees span the 20th century, with particular attention given to the ’60s and ’70s.

The selected songs include Billy Joel’s “Piano Man,” John Coltrane’s “A Love Supreme,” Gloria Gaynor’s “I Will Survive,” and The Supremes’ “Where Did Our Love Go,” among others. The Library also inducted full albums, such as Metallica’s Master of Puppets, Santana’s Abraxas, the original soundtrack from A Streetcar Named Desire, and George Carlin’s comedy album Class Clown.

With these latest additions, the National Recording Registry now contains 450 preserved recordings. See the full list of recordings inducted in 2016 below.

Click here to read more

Source: Entertainment Weekly | Dylan Kickham