Jameis Winston was lucky he didn’t get ejected from Florida State’s game against Boston College Saturday. During the third quarter Winston and the Noles were in the hurry up trying to get the snap off, but the official was not letting Winston under center as Boston College had to be allowed the time to substitute.
And that’s when Winston did this.
Now, in no way was Winston trying to hurt the official, but the rules are rather simple in this case. You are not allowed to deliberately touch an official, let alone try to shove or pull him out of your way.
Winston was not called for a penalty for his actions, and honestly I’m OK with that, but had this official wanted to, he could have tossed Winston from the game. It’ll be interesting to see what, if any, punishment the ACC may hand out for this.
SOURCE: Tom Fornelli