Mike Trout Wins American League MVP Award

Mike Trout
Mike Trout

Los Angeles Angels outfielder Mike Trout was named the unanimous 2014 American League MVP on Thursday night.

Trout finished second in MVP voting both of his first two seasons, losing to Detroit’s Miguel Cabrera. He joins Mickey Mantle as the only players who finished as MVP runner-up in consecutive seasons before winning in the following season.

Trout, 23, is the fifth-youngest winner of the award and the youngest to win in a unanimous vote.

He was tops in the AL with 111 RBIs this season and batted .287 with a career-high 36 home runs. He led the league in both runs scored (115) and total bases (338). He is the first AL MVP to win by unanimous vote since Ken Griffey Jr. in 1997.

He also led all position players in wins above replacement this season at 7.9, but was the lowest WAR in the standout outfielder’s three-year career.

Trout was also honored this season with his third straight Silver Slugger award and was also named the MVP of the 2014 All-Star Game.

The Angels, who lost to Kansas City in the AL Division Series, finished 98-64 this season. Trout joins Vladimir Guerrero (2004) and Don Baylor (1979) as the only players in franchise history to be named MVP.

Detroit Tigers slugger Victor Martinez and Cleveland Indians outfielder Michael Brantley finished second and third, respectively.

SOURCE: The Associated Press

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s