VaShawn Mitchell Wins Big at 27th Annual Stellar Awards

hcsp.jpgRising Gospel music superstar VaShawn Mitchell topped the list of winners during the 27th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards announced Saturday night during the show’s taping at Nashville’s iconic Grand Ole Opry House Theater. 

VaShawn Mitchell receives ‘Artist of the Year’ trophy from Cece Winans at the Annual Stellar Awards. (Photo credit: Rick Diamond / Courtesy of Central City Productions & The FrontPage Firm)

Mitchell took home six awards, including Artist of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year, Contemporary Male of the Year and Praise and Worship CD of the Year for his 2011 album, “Triumphant.”
“I am grateful to stand here,” a gracious Mitchell said, also acknowledging other artists in the category, his family, label and social media fans.  “I’ve been coming to the Stellar Awards a long time and I’m glad I waited my turn.”
Hosted by the legendary Dorinda Clark Cole and Marvin Sapp, ten awards were presented over the course of the two-hour Stellar Awards show, with 28 additional awards announced during pre-show ceremonies on Friday and Saturday. Winners were selected by online voters.
From the start, the evening was catapulted to a heart-pumping level of praise as Kirk Franklin took the stage. In a production-packed opening number, Franklin performed a combination of his latest hits, including “Smile,” which was awarded Song of the Year during the show. Franklin also took home three additional honors, including CD of the Year, Producer of the Year and Contemporary CD of the Year.  Franklin dedicated his awards to his team, pulling them up on stage to share the moment during his acceptance for CD of the Year and later stunned the crowd when he shared his award for Song of the Year with fellow nominee Darius Polk who penned Vashawn Mitchell’s “Nobody Greater.”
“Because God has been so kind to me…..He’s given me more than I deserve or could ever earn,” said Franklin.  “I want to be a good Christian and I know to do that, I have to encourage others. That song “Nobody Greater” has ministered to me so deeply.  If you don’t mind, I would be honored to share this award with [Darius Polk] because that song is incredible.”
Other top winners of the evening included Mary Mary, Kim Burrell, Smokie Norful and The Rance Allen Group who were honored with two trophies each. The New Artist of the Year award was presented to Y’anna Crawley who graciously thanked God for the opportunity to perform and use her gifts for his glory, as well as the fans for listening to her music.
Click here to continue reading